Y Jazz is a project that started May 2017. Initially the band was an instrumental quartet but a couple of months later – September the same year – a singer joined in to complete the band as a quintet. The idea of the project is to gather young jazz professionals together in different collaborations. The formation is performing mainly in local small venues in Sofia, Bulgaria and other bigger cities in the country.

The core members of the band are:

Veleka Tsankova – vocals
Martin Bodourov – trumpet
Svetoslav Milanov – piano
Daniele Febbo – electric bass/double bass
Viktor Viktorov – drums

The present repertoire is mainly based on band-arranged cover versions of jazz standards from the smooth jazz, dixieland and New Orleans styles. The project’s first original compositions will be released around the end of November 2018.

Y Jazz Quintet Live